a house full of butterflies

20140810-154154-56514586.jpg

in a house full of butterflies
my heart resides.
a house,
a home,
a haven for the heart
and one hundred butterflies.
i watch them come-
they return, again this year.
i watch
as they cling to the walls
with no fear of falling;
like lovers cling to each other
with no fear of tomorrow.
i watch
as they wing to the window,
but choose not to leave;
like lovers’ fulfillment.
i watch
as they flutter in light and breeze;
like lovers’ adulation.
i watch
as they hold tight in the night;
like lovers sleeping.
oh what beauty! oh what love!
home is where the heart resides;
the heart and one hundred butterflies.
i watch them
as they dance in each chamber;
like the butterflies
deep
in the four chambers of my heart.
i watch them come-
with no fear of trap nor pin.
i watch them come-
on beautiful beating wing
of velvet, red and gold.
i watch them come-
like gentle pilgrims
their message is true, and old.
they tell me i am safe here,
they tell me i am loved.
a hope,
a home,
a haven for the heart
and butterfly.
they tell me home is
where the heart resides.
this is home.
a home for love
and one hundred butterflies.

(c) Kat McDonald 2014

– for Robert: for in both his heart and home magic resides…

12 thoughts on “a house full of butterflies

  1. Butterflies have a soft spot in my heart :3 Another gorgeous piece! I love your prose. You are able to capture a feeling with your words, the innocence and beauty of butterflies. And as verbose as I am, I’m having trouble articulating how this piece made me feel. It made me feel awesome. It helped me forget about the negative things in my life. The closest thing I can compare it to is the feeling I get when watching a golden sun bleed into the sky. Thank you again for sharing 😀 You have a gift with words. This is another piece I will have to come back and visit because it’s too much to absorb all at once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

