over-tired

114

the sun throws strange shapeshifting shadows across a white wall. they dance to the hum of traffic. quiet time. the mind is not quiet. the mind is a fairground. a fairground distraction. thoughts and memories spin, like a big wheel of disjointed thoughts, round and up to a dizzying height; the urgency of emotions make the belly lurch, like a rollercoaster of emotional spin, alternating currents of momentary weightlessness and serious gravity.

over-tired.

relax.

the  mind              is     lost.

relax.

the body, tight, an over-wound spring.
the mind, a sidewinder, coiled and primed.
step back, for it will attack.

relax.

(c) Kat McDonald 2015

9 thoughts on “over-tired

  1. Cool, reminds me of this song:

    “Noise Inside My Head”
    by Assemblage 23

    It’s 3AM
    And I am laying wide-awake
    And I can’t sleep for the noise inside my head

    The world vibrating
    With a cruel cacophony
    Flooded with the thoughts my mind has bled

    The restless furor
    Of a thousand racing thoughts
    Swarms around me like a vulture circles prey

    In the darkness
    No one else can hear a sound
    But I am deafened by this ceaseless disarray

    I could scream myself to sleep
    If it would shatter the illusion
    But I can’t give in to this
    It’s the noise that makes me human

    Waking life
    Like a movie on a screen
    Running backwards as the film starts to unthread

    A wall of violence
    Bounding forward through the peace
    With no regard for what might lie ahead

    An infestation
    Of arbitrary thought
    Washes over me in paralyzing waves

    My defenses
    Battered by the driving storm
    Isolated – waiting to be saved

    I could scream myself to sleep
    If it would shatter the illusion
    But I can’t give in to this
    It’s the noise that makes me human

    It’s much too late
    And I am slowly losing ground
    A prisoner to the noise inside my head

    Disconnected
    I am trapped within myself
    Held captive by a tide that never ebbs

    I could scream myself to sleep
    If it would shatter the illusion
    But I can’t give in to this
    It’s the noise that makes me human

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i worked over 70 hours last week – between one thing and another… any time off i had has been hijacked with other things. could really use a holiday. time for me. time for me & my lover. some quality time in the Scottish Highlands is long overdue…. wee camping trip, sans phone… just a note pad, pen, a guitar, a tent, a bottle of wine or 4 and my camera… and my lover. much needed…. it WILL be happening.

    come on Scotland, bring on the Sunshine! x

    Like

  3. “The power of imagination makes us infinite” ~ love it. Hope you have gotten your deserved rest and are back at it again, searching for infinity. An atom of truth to this ~ as in the quantum world, what you say is very true.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

